The Union Township Fire Department is a career department employing around 120 firefighters responding from 3 firehouses who protect a population of about 60,000 residents in an area of a little over 9 square miles. The UFD also provides emergency medical services on the BLS level. Union is home to Kean University.

Union Volunteer Fire Company No. 1 was formed in 1910, Vauxhall Fire Company No. 1 was formed in 1913, Townley Volunteer Fire Company No. 3 was formed in 1926. In 1931 the township took control of the three companies.

Department Website